Young Professional Pakistani-American Males Extremely Angry with Faisal Shahzad

Posted on May 7, 2010

0


EP: NYC – A recent Gallup poll of Pakistanis in America revealed that Pakistani-American men between the ages of 26 and 37 who are married with children and working in professional occupations have rapidly developed a seething hatred of Faisal Shahzad, the 30 year old suspected Time Square bomber. Among other findings, the poll indicated that 93% approved of  corporal punishment for Shahzad while 86% offered their own services to interrogate the alleged bomber.

A recent survey by Gallup discovered that 22% of all Pakistani American males have either the name Faisal or Shahzad somewhere in their names.

The results of the poll suggest a realization that Shahzad’s actions will likely cast greater suspicion on the group. “Its bad enough that this guy is Pakistani and did what he did, but on top of that he decided to get a graduate degree, get married and have two kids” said Faisal Aziz, a 33 year old Pakistani American working as a financial analyst  in New York City. “I mean the only two things I had going for me at airport security was my fancy career and pictures of my kids – and now this idiot has even taken THAT away from me” he added.

Jeff Jones, an analyst for Gallup, believes Aziz’s sentiments are shared by many within the community. “It turns out that about 67% of Pakistani American males have a graduate degree and have at some point in their career’s worked as a financial analyst. In addition, about 22 % have either Faisal or Shahzad as either their first or last names. The reality is this is going to cast a very wide net, a lot of people are going to be affected.”

Some Pakistani Americans are going to extreme measures to escape the association with Shahzad and his actions. Faisal Sultan, a 35 year old investment banker from Rhode Island, is in the process of legally changing his name to Fred Smith. “I’ve had it, there is no point if being associated with these people anymore” said the soon to be Fred Smith, “when people ask me where I am originally from I will just say I was adopted and don’t know where my real parents came from –  I am sure my parents will understand. At least I will get some sympathy for once in my life.”

Others are taking a more practical approach to the situation. Faisal Saleem, a 29 year old graduate student in finance, spoke with reporters before boarding a plane at New York’s JFK airport. “I know its only going to get worse, so basically I have decided that from now on I will only travel wearing a tank top and a speedos. This is what this idiot bomber has brought us to” complained Saleem as he boarded the plane.

