Gingrich Expects Surge in Polls Until Public Remembers He is Newt Gingrich

Posted on November 17, 2011

0


EP: Washington DC – First it was Michelle Bachman, then Rick Perry and Herman Cain. Now its Newt Gingrich’s turn to join Mitt Romney at the head of the pack. In what is shaping up as one of the most volatile Republican primary seasons of recent memory, former House Speaker Newt Ginrich is enjoying surging poll numbers  as former front runners Herman Cain and Rick Perry struggle to recover from respective scandals and poor debate performances.

Newt Gingrich continues to enjoy surging poll numbers heading into the Republican presidential primary season. Here the former house speaker explains that he believes in accountability for politicians not named "Newt Gingrich."

While surprised by increased interest in his campaign, Gingrich was frank with reporters outside a campaign stop in Iowa. “I believe I will continue to enjoy this recent surge in support until the media focuses on me more closely to reveal how ethically compromised and hypocritical I really am,” explained Gingrich “after which, I expect those poll numbers to drop as people become increasingly disgusted with me as a person and a politician.” When asked to elaborate on his statement, he gave a few specific examples including how he “had an affair with an intern in my office 23 years younger than me at the same time I was leading the effort to impeach President Clinton for having an affair with an intern many years younger than him.” Gingrich later added “well its not like I divorced my wife while she was lying in a hospital bed with cancer – oh wait, I did do that as well.”

Most recently Gingrich received criticism for a $1.6 million consultancy project for Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, two home lending organizations he continues to harshly criticize. He explained the apparent contradiction to reporters.  “Let me be clear, I do not believe that I should be held accountable like normal people. This is because I do not have a single shred of humility or ethical fiber left inside me – I am literally a hollow shell of a man. This makes it both easy and acceptable for me to publicly and vociferously attack others for doing the same thing I have done in the past for personal financial and political benefit.”

